AMENDMENT TO THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS (AGD) AGD-1-07 TITLE: RECONSTITUTE THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE SPECIAL COMMITTEE ON WIRELESS TECHNOLOGY

WHEREAS, The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' Special Committee on Wireless Technology has been charged with the responsibilities to advocate for a secure transportation communications system by coordinating and collaborating with AASHTO, its members, the Federal Communications Commission, other agencies, professional organizations; and

WHEREAS, The fourteen voting members of the Special Committee on Wireless Technology include; a chair; a vice chair; and up to three representatives from each of the four AASHTO regions; and

WHEREAS, Wireless communications have always been an essential and ongoing responsibility with increased emphasis on integration with ITS, Public Safety, Operations, Maintenance, and homeland security functions for every state DOT, resulting in agencies having established special staff positions and resources to meet these expanding demands and responsibilities; and

WHEREAS, State DOTs must speak with a strong and unified voice before the Federal Communications Commission and other federal regulatory bodies responsible for developing significant wireless voice and data policy and regulatory positions to ensure their issues and concerns get the attention they deserve; and

WHEREAS, Widespread sharing of knowledge among agencies and integration of varied perspectives held among all DOTs are vital to the success of the Special Committee on Wireless Technology in achieving its vision to be the voice and resource for state DOTs to improve transportation operations, maintenance, and security across all modes; and therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the membership of the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials' Standing Committee on Highways Special Committee on Wireless Technology shall be dissolved and reconstituted as the Special Committee on Wireless Communications Technology under the Standing Committee on Highways to include up to three representatives from each AASHTO region; and be it further

RESOLVED, That the following language shall replace the final paragraph of text referring to the Special Committee on Wireless Communications Technology in the AASHTO Board of Directors policy manual:

The Special Committee shall report to the Standing Committee on Highways. Membership of the Special Committee shall comprise up to three representatives per AASHTO region. The President will appoint a Chair, a Vice Chair, and a Secretary. Member States shall nominate members who are appointed by the President. Other AASHTO committees are encouraged to provide liaisons to the Special Committee on Wireless Communications Technology. Representatives from federal agencies, associations, or private organizations may be appointed as non-voting members by the Committee Chair.